January 01, 2013

Subaru 4EAT Valve Body Identification

Valve Body Xpress

Part Number Chart

Part NumberDescription
Currently, we do not carry Phase II, Version II style 4EAT valve bodies. Please refer below to see how to identify this version.

Year Identification

4EAT Valve bodies are similar in design but there are subtle differences in the physical casting, dependent upon model year.


Phase II, Version II Identification

The 4EAT Phase II, Version II was introduced starting in 2004 in the Forester Turbo. It was then phased in over the next two years in other models. Phase I and Phase II 4EAT valve bodies had 7 solenoids spread out all over the lower valve body. The Phase II Version II 4EAT has 6 solenoids grouped together under a metal plate with the EPC solenoid in a separate location.

These are the years and models when the Phase II Version II valve body started production:

  • 2004-Later Subaru Forester, Turbo
  • 2005-Later Subaru Forester, Non-Turbo
  • 2005-Later Subaru Legacy/Outback
  • 2005-Later Subaru Impreza, Non-Turbo
  • 2006-Later Subaru Impreza, Turbo

Related Units

Related Parts

While Sonnax makes every effort to ensure the accuracy of technical articles at time of publication, we assume no liability for inaccuracies or for information which may become outdated or obsolete over time.